‘Distrito De Molo’ is a Play Set in Molo… but There’s More to That

By Our Partner

For anyone clued in to the current state of Hiligaynon literature, Ilonggo playwright and Professor Emeritus Leoncio P. Deriada’s name is one that should be familiar to many. The 2015 Gawad sa CCP Para sa Sining in Literature awardee will have a new play out this October, and it’s set in a town that anyone who has ever set foot in Iloilo is surely familiar with: Molo.

Distrito de Molo - Project Iloilo
The play is Distrito De Molo, and it will have its world premiere this October 12 at the Wilfrido Ma. Guerrero Theater in UP Diliman. Directed by Professor Emeritus Tony Mabesa (2015 Gawad sa CCP Para sa Sining in Theatre), Molo will be staged in its original English version and in a Filipino translation by the Palanca Award winner Allan Palileo.

Distrito De Molo is divided in three stories. The first play, Tres Hermanas de Molo, is set in the 1950’s and revolves around the post-war lives of the wealthy Locsin sisters. All three are unmarried, and are each carrying a dark secret from their past. The second play, Atlas de Molo, set in contemporary time, is about Eric and Lorena Avanceña. The newlyweds return to their ancestral home. Atlas, the statue in their garden, comes to life and changes their lives forever. The last play, Venus de Molo, set in the 30’s, revolves around Don Guillermo Arroyo and his obsession with the statue of Venus de Milo. He employs the local sculptor, Crispino Marañon, to reproduce the statue but without compensation. Things turn around when Laonsena, a goddess, visits Marañon and reveals a shocking secret to Don Guillermo.

The cast of Distrito De Molo includes professional theatre actors like Stella Cañete-Mendoza, Frances Makil-Ignacio, Adriana Agcaoili, Astarte Abraham, Dolly De Leon, Katte Sabatte, Ronnie Martinez, Flordeliz Salanga, Monette Flores, Carlo Cannu, Ron Biñas, Carlo Tarobal, Missy Maramara, Ian Ignacio, Leo Rialp, Jacques Borlaza, Arvin Trinidad, Brian Arda, Sue Prado, Liway Gabo, Chase Salazar, Neil Ryan Sese and Candy Pangilinan.

The artistic team, on the other hand, includes Nick Deocampo (set design), Shax Siosoco (lights design), Eric Pineda (costume design), and Jethro Joaquin (sound design).

This project between Professors Deriada and Mabesa runs from October 12–30, 2016; Wednesdays to Fridays at 7:00 p.m.; and Saturdays and Sundays at 10:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. Specific performance dates are below:


First   Week  
October 12 (Wednesday) – 7PM                 ENGLISH
October 13 (Thursday) – 7PM                     ENGLISH
October 14 (Friday) – 7PM                           ENGLISH 
October 15 (Saturday) – 10AM & 3PM     ENGLISH 
October 16 (Sunday) – 10AM & 3PM        ENGLISH 
Second   Week  
October 19 (Wednesday) – 7PM                 FILIPINO
October 20 (Thursday) – 7PM                     FILIPINO
October 21 (Friday) – 7PM                           FILIPINO 
October 22 (Saturday) – 10AM & 3PM     FILIPINO 
October 23 (Sunday) – 10AM & 3PM        FILIPINO 
Third Week
October 26 (Wednesday) – 7PM                 ENGLISH
October 27 (Thursday) – 7PM                     FILIPINO
October 28 (Friday) – 7 PM                         ENGLISH
October 29 (Saturday) – 10 AM                   FILIPINO
October 29 (Saturday) – 3PM                      ENGLISH
October 30 (Sunday) – 10AM                      ENGLISH
October 30 (Sunday) – 3PM                         FILIPINO

VENUE: Wilfrido Ma. Guerrero Theater 2/F Palma Hall, UP Diliman, Quezon City
TICKET PRICE: Php 500.00 Regular Ticket Price
*Discounts are available for bulk purchases.

For inquiries, please contact:
ARKEL MENDOZA, Marketing Manager
0908 814 9975


Project Iloilo Episodes S01E06: FM Radio

Project Iloilo Episodes S01E03: (Ir)Responsible Tourism

How Riding a Bus Made Me Enjoy Life as an Ilonggo Again